Global Teacher Education Consortium

The Global Teacher Education Consortium (GTEC) is designing a global research agenda to investigate the impact of teacher education policies in 16 countries.

A group of leading teacher education researchers from Australia, Belgium, Canada, England, Finland, Hong Kong SAR, Ireland, the Netherlands, New Zealand, North Ireland, Norway, Portugal, Scotland, the USA and Wales formed the Global Teacher Education Consortium (GTEC) in September 2019. GTEC is establishing an ambitious and long-term research agenda across these countries to investigate the impact of recent teacher education policies and practices on: teachers and teaching; teacher educators; pupils and their learning; schools and their communities; and, education systems as a whole.

External Collaborators

Jenny Gore, Professor, University of Newcastle, Australia

Alyson Simpson, Professor, University of Sydney, Australia

Wayne Cotton, Associate Professor, University of Sydney, Australia

Nicole Mockler, Associate Professor, University of Sydney, Australia

Eline Vanassche, Professor, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium

Anne Phelan, Professor, University of British Columbia, Canada

Qiong Li, Associate Professor, Beijing Normal University, China

Auli Toom, Professor, University of Helsinki, Finland

Yee Fan Sylvia Tang, Professor, Education University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong SAR

May Hung May Cheng, Professor, Education University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong SAR

A. Lin Goodwin, Professor, Hong Kong University, Hong Kong SAR

Paul Conway, Professor, University of Limerick, Ireland

Paulien Meijer, Professor, Radboud University, the Netherlands   

Fiona Ell, Associate Professor, University of Auckland, New Zealand

Linda Clarke, Professor, Ulster University, Northern Ireland

Solvi Lillejord, Professor, University of Bergen, Norway

Maria Assunção Flores, Professor, University of Minho, Portugal

Aileen Kennedy, University of Edinburgh, Scotland

Kay Livingston, Professor, University of Glasgow, Scotland

Maria Teresa Tatto, Professor, Arizona State University, USA

Ken Zeichner, Emeritus Professor, University of Washington, USA

Alma Harris, Professor, Swansea University, Wales


Former team member: Diane Mayer, Katherine Burn