Departmental OUSU teaching awards

Wednesday, June 10, 2015

Category: News

The Oxford University Students Union Teaching Awards have been announced and there are several members of the Department who were nominated, shortlisted or a winner in each of four categories.

  • Professor Terezinha Nunes, who was one of 11 shortlisted out of 142 nominees for one of the three Most Acclaimed Lecturer Awards;
  • Dr Rebecca Eynon, who was one of 17 shortlisted out of 63 nominees for one of the four Outstanding Supervisor Awards;
  • Dr Catherine Walter, who was one of 19 shortlisted out of 250 nominees and a winner of one of the four Outstanding Tutor Awards;
  • Dr Susan James Relly, who was one of the 10 shortlisted (out of a lot of nominees) and a winner of one of the three Outstanding Staff Awards.

The Department of Education is the only department to have had staff shortlisted in all four categories. This is the second year running that Dr Eynon has been nominated for an OUSU Teaching Award.

These Teaching Awards are an opportunity for OUSU to celebrate tutors, lecturers, supervisors and support staff who go above and beyond their normal duties to deliver exceptionally excellent support to our students and are an important part of OUSU’s work on the academic experience at Oxford.

At the ceremony in the Weston Library, Pro-Vice Chancellor for Education Sally Mapstone paid tribute to the winners, the shortlisted candidates, and all those who were nominated.